Brave

What does it mean to be brave?

It’s something that I’ve been thinking about a lot lately as I look at the world around me with a new sense of inspiration and hope.

Sara Bareilles song ‘Brave’ has been my jam ever since I got back to Toronto from my two and half months in Asia, maybe that’s what has gotten me thinking. Sara B has been one of my favourite artists for a while now, and she always seems to bring out a new song which I need to hear, right at the perfect moment. Her tunes are poetic and deep, and poignant.

Here’s the second verse of Brave:

~
Everybody’s been there, everybody’s been stared down
By the enemy
Fallen for the fear and done some disappearing
Bow down to the mighty
Don’t run, stop holding your tongue
Maybe there’s a way out of the cage where you live
Maybe one of these days you can let the light in
Show me how big your brave is
~

I see bravery everywhere I look in my life, and I’m humbled by it.

It is something that I don’t think is celebrated enough, and I think people shrug off their own testaments to bravery too easily. We none of us think that what we’ve done is great, is big, compared to what others have weathered. We point at someone else and say “well if you think I’m brave, look at them.”

We’ve all had occasion to be brave, and we deserve the recognition, even if it just comes from ourselves.

Being Brave is getting up one more time than you fall down.

Sometimes it’s the little things, like taking a chance.
It’s putting your hand up and saying “I need help.”
It’s saying “this is me” and then living  your life with or without unanimous support.
Sometimes it’s the big things.
It’s quitting your job because you don’t love it and you want to chase your dreams.
It’s going on and living your life after you’ve lost somebody you love, even if at first you don’t know how.
It’s making the tough calls, doing things that might be scary now, but reap benefits in the future.
Taking the leap.

Bravery, is hard.

And that’s okay I think.

Maybe it’s meant to be hard, and maybe Bravery can’t be there all the time in every aspect of your life. But at some point a challenge is going to confront you that is so big you’ve only got two options, Give up and Go home, or Grunt and sweat and fail and push and scream and try again, until you get yourself over whatever the hurdle may be.

Nobodies life is completely perfect and no matter if it looks it from the outside, we all have our struggles.
The people who make it look easy are just better actors.

I’m privileged to have lived a wide, international life, with highs and lows, plenty of laughter and of course an amount of tears. I’m grateful for the experiences which were difficult because they allowed me to test what my true core is made of. And I’m thankful to discover that it’s tougher than what I thought it was originally!

From my incredible family, to my fabulous friends, and all the people that have come into and out of my life, I continue to learn what it means to “Screw your courage to it’s sticking place”.

Sometimes we might forget that inside us is this incredible power. My Mum and I both have words inked into our skins to remind us.

My Tattoo

My Tattoo – from ‘The Desiderata’

My Mum’s Tattoo read’s

“Fortune Favours the Brave”

Being Brave leads us to push ourselves, to open new doors, to open ourselves to new experiences, and continue living this incredible journey day by day. I have so much love and respect for those that remind me what it is to be brave. And whether or not you think what you’re doing really qualifies, each time something was hard or scary, but you did it anyway, well guess what?

That was Bravery.

And you go Glen Coco.

Paris

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

