Seeing the City

As my one year anniversary with Canada creeps closer (12th June), I find myself reflecting more and more on what I have done, the new experiences I have had, and MOST importantly, the people I have met.

When I think about Sydney or Hong Kong, the things I miss most are the people and the minute victories and adventures we went on together. The picnics at Glebe Park, the tiny enclosed water gardens.

Image

Image

 

I miss the moments together (and there are plenty, my walls in Toronto are plastered with the photographs, little reminders of many of the adventures).

But every day in Toronto is like waking up and living an adventure. Sure, I get more and more used to it every day, but it always hits me at some point in the 24 hour stretch, Oh My God, I’m actually living here!

I am the first person in my family to come to North America, and for them it is as much of a journey. While I may be getting slightly dulled and used to the idea of being in Canada, I think it is still a big surprise and joy for my wide spread family to see me living it up in a place so far from where I was born and grew up.

I love to take photo’s of the weird experiences (uniquely North American) and post them to my blog or Facebook, and for my family to remind me just how lucky I am, and just how special these experiences are.

 

ImageImage

 

I’m going to be experiencing something new this Thursday, when I head to Miami to celebrate Cinco de Mayo with my Cuban/American friend who lives there. Having only been to Boston for the weekend, and Buffalo for the day, I can’t wait to see this different part of the world.

Leave a Reply

